How to create a guest user on a Mac

If you’ve ever wanted to let someone use your Mac without giving them access to all your files, you’ll need to create a guest user. Creating a guest user on your Mac is a quick and easy process that can be done in just a few steps.

Create a guest user on your MacBook

Once you’ve created a guest user, they can use your computer like any other user. However, they will only have access to specific files and folders that you specify. This is a great way to let someone use your computer without worrying about them viewing your personal files.

The following paragraphs will teach you how to create a guest user on your Mac very quickly and easily.

How to create a guest user on a MacBook

To create a guest account on your Mac, follow these steps.

  1. Click the Apple menu, then select System settings.
  2. Choose Users and groups.
  3. Click padlock and enter the administrator password.
  4. Select Guest User.
  5. Check the box next to it Allow guests to log on to this computer.
  6. Mark it restrict access to adult sites if you don’t want guests to visit adult sites on your Mac.
  7. Depending on your choice, you can check or uncheck the box Allow guest users to connect to shared folders the box
  8. Exit System Preferences.

By following the steps above, you can successfully create a guest user on your Mac.

Please note that all guest account files and information will be deleted once the user logs out. This is done to protect user privacy as well as your storage space.

However if you decide disable the guest feature, you can do it by simply unchecking the box Allow guests to log on to this computer.

Rounding up

If you’ve ever shared your Mac with someone else, you know it can be a bit of a hassle. You have to worry about them messing up your settings, accidentally deleting important files, or just wreaking havoc. A guest account is the perfect solution to this problem. By setting up a guest account, you can give someone access to your Mac without worrying about them making any changes to your settings or files.